7th Rural and Remote Health Scientific Symposium - register now!

  • 7th Rural and Remote Health Scientific Symposium speakers
National Rural Health Alliance
Leanne Coleman, Manager, Programs and Events


7th Rural and Remote Health Scientific Symposium
Alice Springs Convention Centre
25-26 May 2020

The 7th Rural and Remote Health Scientific Symposium (ruralhealth.org.au/7rrhss) will be held in Alice Springs, 25-26 May 2020, and will provide an opportunity for rural health experts to share insights and learn from current research that will transform health service delivery in years to come.

Registration is now open via the Symposium website and
the program will be available very soon.

The purpose of the Symposium is to bring together the rural and remote health research sector, including policy makers and others in the government and non-government sectors to discuss current research and future needs.

There was an overwhelming response to the call for abstracts with over 275 high quality abstracts received from the rural health sector.  All abstracts were blind reviewed by the rural health academic network and offers have been sent to successful authors.  What this does mean however, is that there are many excellent abstracts that were unsuccessful in gaining a spot on the program.  We hope that these authors will still be able to attend and promote their research as a delegate.

There will be four plenary sessions with Keynote Speakers addressing global health, research translation and implementation, Indigenous health, and the future of rural health research in Australia.  Current confirmed Keynotes include:

  • Dr David Abbott, Principal Research Scientist, Medical Research Future Fund
  • Professor Harriet Hiscock, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
  • Professor Pierre Horwitz, Professor of Environmental Science, Edith Cowan University
  • Dr Jaqui Hughes, Nephrologist and NHMRC Early Career Research Fellow, Menzies School of Health Research
  • Professor Louise Maple-Brown, Senior Principal Research Fellow, Menzies School of Health Research
  • Mr John Paterson, CEO, Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory
  • Dr Danny Tsai, Aboriginal Medical Service Pharmacist, Pharmacy Department, Alice Springs Hospital
  • Professor Anthony Capon, Professor of Planetary Health, University of Sydney

The ranking process drove the formation of a high quality program that will include 69 individual presentations including general papers, lightning talks, rogano sessions and posters.

There will also be a number of interactive panels and workshops::

  • The Translation Toolkit: A practical guide to translating your research into practice and policy
  • Ethics and rural health research: Exploring the specificities of rural contexts
  • Advocating for evidence- based health policy: Lessons from the NT alcohol reforms
  • Strengthening Governance to Support Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Health Workers Across Jurisdictions
  • Persistent Pain Management- Turning Heartsink into Hope

Other highlights include the Symposium dinner, sponsored by the University of Tasmania, and a networking breakfast for early career researchers.

For everything you need to know visit the website at:  ruralhealth.org.au/7rrhss

The National Rural Health Alliance is pleased to host this Symposium in partnership with the Australian Rural Health Education Network (ARHEN), the Federation of Rural Australian Medical Educators (FRAME), and the Lowitja Institute.

Thank you to our current sponsors:

  • The University of Melbourne
  • Three Rivers UDRH
  • CQ University Australia
  • CQ University Australia
  • University of Tasmania
  • Australasian College of Emergency Medicine
  • The Australian Workforce Agencies
  • Griffith University
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Wollongong.

If you would like to join them in supporting the Symposium, or if you would like to take up one of the table displays still available, contact the Alliance on 02 6285 4660 or [email protected]   

REGISTER NOW:  ruralhealth.org.au/7rrhss



Three Rivers UDRH

The University of Melbourne

Flinders University

CQUniversity Australia

University of Tasmania

ACEM Australasian Colege For Emergency Medicine

Griffith University Queensland Australia

University of Southern Queensland

Rural Workforce Agencies

University Of Wollongong

Comment Count

Add new comment