New era for National Rural Health Alliance

12 September 2019

At the Alliance’s 28th Annual General Meeting this week in Canberra, Tanya Lehmann was re-appointed Chair of the National Rural Health Alliance, and a new Strategic Plan was launched.

Upon taking office, Tanya thanked the Board for their support over the past year and for the confidence in her to lead the Alliance for another year. Tanya paid tribute to the work of outgoing Board Member, Lindy Swain, a pharmacist and Director of the Kimberley Rural Health Alliance in Broome, WA; and welcomed incoming Board Member Viney Joshi, a Rural Generalist from Carnarvon, WA.

“I am honoured to lead the Alliance, particularly at this time where we have an increase in membership, and a new Strategic Plan to guide us over the next few years. The Alliance has 41 national Members and our strength of one voice is continually growing.

“The vision of the National Rural Health Alliance is “…healthy and sustainable rural, regional and remote communities”, and the new Strategic Plan will provide a keen focus on the solutions that are possible within the rural health sector and beyond, as we continue to strive to improve the health of people in rural Australia,” said Tanya Lehmann.

Continuity on the NRHA Board is assured by the re-election of Stephen Gourley (Deputy Chair), Julianne Bryce (Treasurer), Nicole O’Reilly (Secretary), Dan Mahony, Peter O’Meara and Lynne Strathie.

A full list of NRHA Board and Council Members can be found on the Alliance website at: under the ‘About us’ tab.

Media Enquiries: 

Gabrielle O’Kane, Chief Executive Officer: 0417 464 216
Leanne Coleman, Manager, Programs and Events: 0407 991 854

©2023 National Rural Health Alliance | Privacy Policy & Collection Statement