Australian Journal of Rural Health

The Australian Journal of Rural Health (AJRH) is a multidisciplinary refereed journal published on behalf of the Alliance by Wiley.

AJRH is peer reviewed and listed in Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Rankings with an impact factor of 1.464. AJRH is listed in the Excellence in Research Australia (ERA) 2018 journal list published by the Australian Research Council with Fields of Research (FoR) of 11 (Medical and Health Science) and 16 (Studies in Human Society). It is listed in Medline, as well as other major abstracting and indexing services. AJRH provides research information, policy articles and reflections related to health care in rural and remote areas of Australia, and is an important publication vehicle for researchers and practitioners.

Since its inception in 1992, AJRH has contributed significantly to the publication of research reports and expert opinion on rural and remote health. In 1999 ownership and management of AJRH was assumed by the National Rural Health Alliance.

The Journal Advisory Committee, comprising representatives of the Alliance, the publisher and the Editor in Chief, guides the operation of the Journal.  The Committee administers the Journal to reflect the Journal’s multi-disciplinary outlook and its primary purpose: to support and promote interdisciplinary health networks, and to help practitioners and researchers influence policies and programs to improve the health of people living and working in rural and remote areas. The Editorial Board led by the Editor in Chief, and comprising the Associate Editors is responsible for the content of the Journal.

AJRH is published six times a year. The first issue each year is available free for online readers.
Subscription details are available on the Wiley website or from the Journal Manager.

Individual Members of Friends of the Alliance receive free online access to AJRH.

The AJRH welcomes the submission of manuscripts and the Editor is pleased to hear from potential referees. As well as manuscripts of full academic papers, AJRH also welcomes shorter articles on matters related to health in rural and remote areas, letters to the Editor, personal stories, practice pointers and obituaries. Author guidelines are available from the Wiley website.Articles for publication in AJRH may be submitted via this link:

Contacts: Clare Ross, Journal Manager: [email protected]; phone 02 6285 4660
Kate Edmonds, re manuscripts: [email protected]; phone +61 (03) 9274 3127
Emma Fitzsimons, re advertising: [email protected]; phone +61 (03) 9274 3162

Journal Advisory Committee: Gabrielle O’Kane, CEO, NRHA; Peter O'Meara, Member NRHA Council; Alison Bell, Wiley; Associate Professor Russell Roberts, Editor in Chief.

Editorial Board

Editor in Chief: Associate Professor Russell Roberts (Orange, NSW)

Associate Editors: Professor Phil Batterham (Canberra, ACT); Dr Heather Bridgman (Launceston, Tas); Professor Oliver Burmeister (Bathurst, NSW); Associate Professor Narelle Campbell (Darwin, NT); Professor Juli Coffin (Nedlands, WA); Dr Marianne Gillam (Whyalla, SA); Dr Anne Jones (Cairns, QLD); Associate Professor Martin Jones (Whyalla, SA); Professor Scott Kitchener (Brisbane, Qld); Dr Mark J Lock (Newcastle, NSW); Dr Garry Nixon (Dunedin, NZ); Associate Professor Jan Radford (Launceston, Tas); Associate Professor Kate Senior (Newcastle, NSW); Dr Evelien Spelten (Mildura, VIC).

International advisers: Professor Dean Carson (Sweden); Professor James Dunbar (Australia); Gordon Gregory (Australia); Associate Professor Svein R Kjosavik (Norway); Kathy Langlois (Canada); Dr Claire Minton (New Zealand); Dennis F Mohatt (USA); Emeritus Professor Tom E Norris (USA); Professor David Perkins (Australia); Professor Luis Salvador-Carulla (Australia); Professor Donald Warne (USA).