NSW Regional Dentistry Scholarship

Applications for 2014 have now closed.

The NSW Regional Dentistry Scholarship aims to support a student with strong links to regional New South Wales to train for a professional dental career. The scholarship is awarded annually to a student commencing dentistry studies.

The one-year scholarship has a value of $4,800. The scholarship holder will also have access to mentoring support from an experienced dentist who is based in regional New South Wales.

The NSW Regional Dentistry Scholarship is supported by Senator John Williams, The Nationals Senator for NSW, and is administered by the National Rural Health Alliance. When he announced the establishment of the scholarship Senator Williams said:

"The last available figures are a stark reminder of the lack of oral health specialists in regional areas where there are just 30 per 100,000 people compared with double that number in major cities. Remote areas fare even worse with just 20 dentists per 100,000 people. I hope in some small way this scholarship will eventually assist a country community."

To submit an application:

  • save a copy of the blank Application Form on your computer;
  • complete the questions (you must enable macros in Microsoft Word to enter data on the form.);
  • save your completed form on your computer; and
  • send your completed form as an email attachment to nsw-rds@ruralhealth.org.au

If you are unable to complete the application form electronically, you can print the form, complete it by hand and send it by mail to the address below.

When completing your application, please refer to the Application Guidelines for full details about the eligibility and selection criteria and how applications will be assessed.

Senator John Williams with current and former NSW Regional Dentistry Scholarship holders at Charles Sturt University, Orange.
From left to right - Amelia Judson (2013), Alayne White (2012), Jessica Powell (2011), Senator Williams

Previous scholarship holders

  • 2013 - Amelia Judson from Bogan Gate, enrolled in the Bachelor of Dental Science, Charles Sturt University, Orange,
  • 2012 - Alayne White from Cowra, enrolled in Bachelor of Dental Science, Charles Sturt University, Orange
  • 2011 - Jessica Powell from Tamworth, enrolled in Bachelor of Dental Science, Charles Sturt University, Orange
  • 2010 - Olivia Jom, from Albury, enrolled in Bachelor of health Sciences in Dentistry, La Trobe University Bendigo

Contact Information

Email: nsw-rds@ruralhealth.org.au
Phone: 1800 460 440 (free call) or 02 6285 4660
Mail: NSW Regional Dentistry Scholarship, National Rural Health Alliance, PO Box 280 DEAKIN WEST ACT 2600