Nominations are now open for the 2017-2019 Friends Advisory Committee

  • Do you support the Alliance’s Vision of good health and wellbeing in remote and rural Australia and do you strive for equal health for all, regardless of where they live?

  • Do you have an interest in working towards, and advocating for, better health and wellbeing for rural and remote Australians?

  • Are you interested in contributing to rural and remote health through supporting the work of the National Rural Health Alliance?

The Friends Advisory Committee is comprised of two representatives from each State and Territory, elected by Friends from each jurisdiction.

The Chair of Friends of the Alliance is elected by the Friends Advisory Committee from within its membership, and becomes a member of Council of the Alliance.

Feedback on rural and remote health issues from Friends, normally through the Advisory Committee, is of considerable value in the Alliance's work. The Chair of Friends is a regular contributor through their membership of Council.

We encourage you to contact your State or Territory representative regarding news, information or issues you would like raised at the regular Friends Advisory Committee teleconferences.

The term of the Friends Advisory Committee is  two years and the new committee is elected following each biennial National Rural Health Conference. A face to face meeting is held at each conference.

The Friends Advisory Committee meets for one hour, via teleconference after every second Alliance Council meeting (every 3 months). 

Nominations close Friday 9 June 2017. 

To nominate, download the attached form, complete and return to

Download form here

2015-17 Friends Advisory Committee


Russell McGowan - Health Care Consumers' Association of the ACT
one position vacant


Cheryl Nichols - Director Eyecare, Optometry Recruitment
Helen Murray - Kurrumbene Agribusiness


Janet Fletcher– Primary Health Care Manager, Nauiyu Community
Robyn WilliamsCoordinator, Bachelor of Health Science,  CDU
Dianne Walsh - Deputy Chair, Top End Health Service


Leone Hinton - Dean, School of Nursing & Midwifery, CQUniversity
Leanne Nisbet - PhD Candidate, University of Qld


Kate Osborne - Advanced Clinical Lead Physiotherapist for Country Health SA Local Health Network
Margie FahyNT / SA Manager – Australian Drug Foundation


Dennis Pashen - GP VMO, Queenstown GP Clinic and Hospital


Andrew McPherson - CEO Grampians Medicare Local
John SmithCEO – West Wimmera Health Service


Lindsay Smoker - Mental Health Advisory Council of Western Australia
Irene Mills - National Rural Women’s Coalition   


Lynne Strathie - Volunteer Health / Disability / Carer Advocate
Greg Mundy - Rural Health Workforce Australia   

Alliance staff

Paulina Leko (Friends Manager),  David Butt (Chief Executive Officer)

View previous committee members 2013 - 2015